Red Lake’s Sommerfeld collects SIJHL Best Defensive Forward award for 2019-20

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Shaye Sommerfeld of the Red Lake Miners has been named its Best Defensive Forward award recipient for the 2019-20 campaign.

The 20-year-old from Drayton Valley, Alta., earned the honour over fellow nominees Bryce Johnson of the Thief River Falls Norskies and Jacob Brown of the Thunder Bay North Stars in voting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

As captain of the Miners, Sommerfeld helped his side defensively in allowing the fewest goals-against in league play during the year, at 176, and boast the second-best penalty kill ratio in the SIJHL at 83.6%.

He also contributed offensively with 20 tallies, including a shorthanded goal, and 20 assists.

This marks the second consecutive season a member of the Miners has won this award as Sommerfeld joins last year’s recipient, Stratton Pickett in earning the laurels.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Best Defensive Forward award recipients:

2019-20: Shaye Sommerfeld, Red Lake Miners
2018-19: Stratton Pickett, Red Lake Miners
2017-18: Mitchell Soderberg, Thief River Falls Norskies
2016-17: Brett Wolframe, Thunder Bay North Stars
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Wyatt Cota, Fort Frances Lakers (Co-recipient)
2014-15: Kris Kellaway, Thunder Bay North Stars (Co- recipient)
2013-14: Jonathon Losurdo, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2012-13: Jeremy Johnson, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Sam Dubinsky, Thunder Bay North Stars
2010-11: Blake Boaz, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Ryan Magill, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Cale Brown, Fort William North Stars (Co- recipient)
2008-09: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres (Co- recipient)
2007-08: Travis Jaspers, Fort William North Stars
2006-07: Jason MacMillan, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Jordan Chong, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: Matt Tryuba, Dryden Ice Dogs
2003-04: Cory Bruno, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Tom Grant, Fort William North Stars
2001-02: Josh Baxter, Borderland Thunder (Co- recipient)
2001-02: Tom Grant, Thunder Bay Bulldogs (Co- recipient)

Photo credit: Patrick Boucha