Norskies’ Connor Kalthoff named SIJHL’s best defenceman for 2019-20

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Connor Kalthoff of the Thief River Falls Norskies has been selected as its Top Defenceman Award recipient for the 2019-20 season.

Kalthoff picked up the accolades over fellow nominees, Logan Mihalcin of the Thunder Bay North Stars and Carson Lux from the Red Lake Miners, following a voting process completed by each of the league’s member clubs.

The 19-year-old Sartell, Minn., native played at a point-per-game pace for Thief River Falls during the campaign with 48 in as many outings on 13 tallies and 35 assists.

Those numbers led all SIJHL blueliners and also tied him for 11th overall in league offensive production.

Of his 13 goals, six came on the power play, while three more were game-winners.

Kalthoff becomes the first Norskies rearguard to garner this award.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Best Defenceman Award winners:

2019-20: Connor Kalthoff, Thief River Falls Norskies
2018-19: Kyle Auger, Thunder Bay North Stars
2017-18: Cory Dennis, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2016-17: Trevor Pereverzoff, English River Miners
2015-16: Nick Minerva, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Noah Anderson, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2013-14: Austin Frank, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2012-13: Len Pelletier, Dryden Ice Dogs
2011-12: Anthony Calabrese, Wisconsin Wilderness
2010-11: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2009-10: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2008-09: Brad Pawlowski, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2007-08: Brad Pawlowski, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2006-07: Jordan Smith, Fort William North Stars
2005-06: Ryan Baird, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Ryan Baird, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Kurt Hogard, Borderland Thunder
2002-03: Jay Philips, Borderland Thunder (Co-recipient)
2002-03: Lloyd Stansell, Thunder Bay Bulldogs (Co-recipient)
2001-02: Mike Kavanaugh, Dryden Ice Dogs (Co-recipient)
2001-02: Jarris Blacksmith, Featherman Hawks (Co-recipient)

Photo credit: Tim Benton