Dryden’s GM Ice Dogs’ Braeden Allkins named 2016-17 SIJHL MVP



Release Date: Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Photo credit: Michael Christianson, Dryden Observer

Dryden’s GM Ice Dogs’ Braeden Allkins named 2016-17 SIJHL MVP

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Dryden GM Ice Dogs forward Braeden Allkins has been named the SIJHL’s Mallon’s Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports Most Valuable Player for the 2016-17 season.

Allkins garnered the accolades over fellow MVP finalist Jared Virtanen of the Fort Frances Lakers. Nicholas Nigro of the Thunder Bay North Stars was also a nominee for the award in voting completed by each of the league-member clubs.

The 20-year-old from Golden, B.C., led the SIJHL in both goals and points during the campaign as he notched 53 tallies while chipping in with 44 assists for 97 points overall.

His totals set a new Dryden franchise mark for goals and points in a single season and he also led the way in SIJHL power play markers with 16 and game-winning goals with eight while tying for first in shorthanded efforts with four.

By scoring 53 times it marked the second-highest total in the entire 132-team Canadian Junior Hockey League in 2016-17.

The GM Ice Dogs standout was also named a SIJHL CCM Hockey first team all-star at forward.

With the honour, Allkins will also be the SIJHL’s nominee for the CJHL Player of the Year Award that will be announced at the RBC Cup Canadian Jr. A Championship this May in Cobourg, Ont.

Allkins becomes the third Dryden player in the 16-year history of the SIJHL to capture league MVP honours joining Cole Golka and Jon Mitchell who claimed the accolades for the 2014-15 and 2010-11 seasons respectively.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time most valuable player recipients:

2016-17: Braeden Allkins, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Cole Golka, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2013-14: Daniel Del Paggio, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Mike Dietrich, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Byron Katapaytuk, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2009-10: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Quinn Amiel, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Chris Bryson, Schreiber Diesels
2004-05: Nathan Breukelman, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder
2002-03: Trevor Karasiewicz, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Charly Washipabano, Feathermen Hawks